Author Topic: 1st or 2nd serve?  (Read 1200 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline monstertruck

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 12297
1st or 2nd serve?
« on: July 26, 2012, 06:38:11 AM »
I serve, hit the tape, ball lands out but stays in opponents playing area.
I ask to have the ball cleared and he refuses.
At this point some time has elapsed.
Can I demand the ball be cleared?
Do I get another 1st serve?

CONK da ball!!!

Offline Tennis4you

  • Administrator
  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 24870
  • Gender: Male
    • Tennis4you
Re: 1st or 2nd serve?
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2012, 06:43:05 AM »
I say just go to the other side of the net, pick it up yourself and get defaulted for crossing the net.  Go home and relax and be done playing the rude fool!  :)
Good Luck on the Court!!!
Scott Baker
http://www.tennis4you.com

Offline monstertruck

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 12297
Re: 1st or 2nd serve?
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2012, 06:47:35 AM »
Heheheh! :rofl_2:
CONK da ball!!!

Offline Jamesdster

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 6399
  • Gender: Male
Re: 1st or 2nd serve?
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2012, 06:58:23 AM »
I serve, hit the tape, ball lands out but stays in opponents playing area.
I ask to have the ball cleared and he refuses.
At this point some time has elapsed.
Can I demand the ball be cleared?
Do I get another 1st serve?

Any request to remove a ball from the playing area must be honored.  If I was a roving or chair umpire I would award you a first serve if your opponent refused and thus created a delay.  I would probably also give him/her a "soft caution" (warnings are no longer given haha) pertaining to gamesmanship.  But a bigger question for you:  WHY would you want the ball removed?  If you hit the ball that remains on his / her ct, you would almost certainly win the point.
I was at this casino minding my own business, and this guy came up to me and said, "You're gonna have to move, you're blocking a fire exit." As though if there was a fire, I wasn't gonna run. If you're flammible and have legs, you are never blocking a fire exit.  - Mitch Hedberg

Offline Jamesdster

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 6399
  • Gender: Male
Re: 1st or 2nd serve?
« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2012, 07:08:42 AM »
I say just go to the other side of the net, pick it up yourself and get defaulted for crossing the net.  Go home and relax and be done playing the rude fool!  :)

We need a WHOLE NEW RULEBOOK JUST FOR YOU!!   :rofl_2:  The Scott Baker Friend at Court.
I was at this casino minding my own business, and this guy came up to me and said, "You're gonna have to move, you're blocking a fire exit." As though if there was a fire, I wasn't gonna run. If you're flammible and have legs, you are never blocking a fire exit.  - Mitch Hedberg

Offline monstertruck

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 12297
Re: 1st or 2nd serve?
« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2012, 05:41:15 PM »
I serve, hit the tape, ball lands out but stays in opponents playing area.
I ask to have the ball cleared and he refuses.
At this point some time has elapsed.
Can I demand the ball be cleared?
Do I get another 1st serve?

Any request to remove a ball from the playing area must be honored.  If I was a roving or chair umpire I would award you a first serve if your opponent refused and thus created a delay.  I would probably also give him/her a "soft caution" (warnings are no longer given haha) pertaining to gamesmanship.  But a bigger question for you:  WHY would you want the ball removed?  If you hit the ball that remains on his / her ct, you would almost certainly win the point.
It would be a distraction for me. :;:-|
CONK da ball!!!

Offline jarinahpel

  • Tennis Player
  • **
  • Posts: 6
Re: 1st or 2nd serve?
« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2013, 03:41:08 PM »
 I would probably also give him/her a "soft caution" (warnings are no longer given haha) pertaining to gamesmanship.  But a bigger question for you:  WHY would you want the ball removed?  If you hit the ball that remains on his / her ct, you would almost certainly win the point.

Offline monstertruck

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 12297
Re: 1st or 2nd serve?
« Reply #7 on: September 15, 2013, 09:36:50 AM »
I would probably also give him/her a "soft caution" (warnings are no longer given haha) pertaining to gamesmanship.  But a bigger question for you:  WHY would you want the ball removed?  If you hit the ball that remains on his / her ct, you would almost certainly win the point.
As much as I like to win, I certainly don't want any of my opponents injured.  I'd much rather win a point 'cleanly' than with the help of as stray ball.

I believe the term for my 'condition' is analosity.
CONK da ball!!!