Author Topic: 1st or 2nd Serve?  (Read 1485 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jamesdster

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 6399
  • Gender: Male
1st or 2nd Serve?
« on: July 30, 2012, 07:51:30 AM »
Here is another situation from the tourney this weekend.  It is an easy one but there were a lot of inexperienced players who did not know the rule (it happened at least 3 times.)  Ok, here goes…..Player A hits a first serve and it is out.  Player A hits a 2nd serve and it is good and the point is going along fine when lo and behold a ball from the next court rolls onto the court and one of the player properly calls a let.  Well, player A wants a first serve but the opponent says “Nope.  You just hit a 2nd serve so we need to replay the 2nd serve.”  What would you, as an official rule?
I was at this casino minding my own business, and this guy came up to me and said, "You're gonna have to move, you're blocking a fire exit." As though if there was a fire, I wasn't gonna run. If you're flammible and have legs, you are never blocking a fire exit.  - Mitch Hedberg

Online monstertruck

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 12382
Re: 1st or 2nd Serve?
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2012, 09:09:28 AM »
Fat Man says first serve i.e. replay the point itself.
CONK da ball!!!

Offline Jamesdster

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 6399
  • Gender: Male
Re: 1st or 2nd Serve?
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2012, 09:22:35 AM »
Monster is Correct! :)>>>>
I was at this casino minding my own business, and this guy came up to me and said, "You're gonna have to move, you're blocking a fire exit." As though if there was a fire, I wasn't gonna run. If you're flammible and have legs, you are never blocking a fire exit.  - Mitch Hedberg

Online Babblelot

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 32686
  • Gender: Male
  • Chicago, IL
Re: 1st or 2nd Serve?
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2012, 10:41:57 AM »
What if the ball from another court rolls onto the court between first and second serve and the server retreives the ball for the other court?



Sent from my SPH-D600 using Tapatalk 2
1995 USO, 1997 USO, 2004 USO, 2005 RG, 2005 USO, 2006 RG, 2006 USO, 2007 USO, 2008 RG, 2008 USO, 2009 USO, 2010 USO, 2011 USO, 2012 USOhttp://www.gifsoup.com/view4/1856936/2005safin-o.gif
http://www.gifsoup.com/view1/1857331/2004gaudio-o.gif

Offline Jamesdster

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 6399
  • Gender: Male
Re: 1st or 2nd Serve?
« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2012, 11:31:21 AM »
What if the ball from another court rolls onto the court between first and second serve and the server retreives the ball for the other court?



Sent from my SPH-D600 using Tapatalk 2

2nd serve
I was at this casino minding my own business, and this guy came up to me and said, "You're gonna have to move, you're blocking a fire exit." As though if there was a fire, I wasn't gonna run. If you're flammible and have legs, you are never blocking a fire exit.  - Mitch Hedberg

Online Babblelot

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 32686
  • Gender: Male
  • Chicago, IL
Re: 1st or 2nd Serve?
« Reply #5 on: July 30, 2012, 12:05:25 PM »
Really. I thought that was easy. First serve. I guess we're just nice Midwestern folk up hereah in Chicago.


Sent from my SPH-D600 using Tapatalk 2
1995 USO, 1997 USO, 2004 USO, 2005 RG, 2005 USO, 2006 RG, 2006 USO, 2007 USO, 2008 RG, 2008 USO, 2009 USO, 2010 USO, 2011 USO, 2012 USOhttp://www.gifsoup.com/view4/1856936/2005safin-o.gif
http://www.gifsoup.com/view1/1857331/2004gaudio-o.gif

Offline Jamesdster

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 6399
  • Gender: Male
Re: 1st or 2nd Serve?
« Reply #6 on: July 30, 2012, 12:44:44 PM »
Really. I thought that was easy. First serve. I guess we're just nice Midwestern folk up hereah in Chicago.


Sent from my SPH-D600 using Tapatalk 2

Thr rule is clear.  Clearing a ball off your ct between the 1st and 2nd ct does not entitle you to a 1st serve, unless of course your opponent wants to give you a 1st serve.  Actually you just hit on my #1 pet peeve (as a player, not a ref.)  Guy/gals who always ask for a 1st serve after clearing a ball DRIVES ME NUTSO!!   :hammer:
I was at this casino minding my own business, and this guy came up to me and said, "You're gonna have to move, you're blocking a fire exit." As though if there was a fire, I wasn't gonna run. If you're flammible and have legs, you are never blocking a fire exit.  - Mitch Hedberg

Online monstertruck

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 12382
Re: 1st or 2nd Serve?
« Reply #7 on: July 30, 2012, 04:29:33 PM »
Really. I thought that was easy. First serve. I guess we're just nice Midwestern folk up hereah in Chicago.


Sent from my SPH-D600 using Tapatalk 2

Thr rule is clear.  Clearing a ball off your ct between the 1st and 2nd ct does not entitle you to a 1st serve, unless of course your opponent wants to give you a 1st serve.  Actually you just hit on my #1 pet peeve (as a player, not a ref.)  Guy/gals who always ask for a 1st serve after clearing a ball DRIVES ME NUTSO!!   :hammer:
My personal philosophy on this is 'never ask, always give'.
I know, it's sort of out of character for me! :lmao:
CONK da ball!!!

Offline Jamesdster

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 6399
  • Gender: Male
Re: 1st or 2nd Serve?
« Reply #8 on: July 30, 2012, 10:20:13 PM »
Really. I thought that was easy. First serve. I guess we're just nice Midwestern folk up hereah in Chicago.


Sent from my SPH-D600 using Tapatalk 2

Thr rule is clear.  Clearing a ball off your ct between the 1st and 2nd ct does not entitle you to a 1st serve, unless of course your opponent wants to give you a 1st serve.  Actually you just hit on my #1 pet peeve (as a player, not a ref.)  Guy/gals who always ask for a 1st serve after clearing a ball DRIVES ME NUTSO!!   :hammer:
My personal philosophy on this is 'never ask, always give'.
I know, it's sort of out of character for me! :lmao:

Did I really say "Clearing a ball off your ct between the 1st and 2nd ct .  Replace "ct" with "serve".  My reading skills leave a lot to be desired.
I was at this casino minding my own business, and this guy came up to me and said, "You're gonna have to move, you're blocking a fire exit." As though if there was a fire, I wasn't gonna run. If you're flammible and have legs, you are never blocking a fire exit.  - Mitch Hedberg

Online monstertruck

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 12382
Re: 1st or 2nd Serve?
« Reply #9 on: July 31, 2012, 05:15:12 AM »
Really. I thought that was easy. First serve. I guess we're just nice Midwestern folk up hereah in Chicago.


Sent from my SPH-D600 using Tapatalk 2

Thr rule is clear.  Clearing a ball off your ct between the 1st and 2nd ct does not entitle you to a 1st serve, unless of course your opponent wants to give you a 1st serve.  Actually you just hit on my #1 pet peeve (as a player, not a ref.)  Guy/gals who always ask for a 1st serve after clearing a ball DRIVES ME NUTSO!!   :hammer:
My personal philosophy on this is 'never ask, always give'.
I know, it's sort of out of character for me! :lmao:

Did I really say "Clearing a ball off your ct between the 1st and 2nd ct .  Replace "ct" with "serve".  My reading skills leave a lot to be desired.
Even with my 'cheaters' on, I missed that one..... :whistle:
CONK da ball!!!

Offline jarinahpel

  • Tennis Player
  • **
  • Posts: 6
Re: 1st or 2nd Serve?
« Reply #10 on: September 14, 2013, 03:46:32 PM »
Guy/gals who always ask for a 1st serve after clearing a ball DRIVES ME NUTSO!!