Author Topic: Ball Drop Question  (Read 388 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Tennis4you

  • Administrator
  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 24870
  • Gender: Male
    • Tennis4you
Ball Drop Question
« on: November 08, 2013, 11:53:45 AM »
Question for the Big Jim D!  This came in today via. email:

Quote
In a doubles match, my partner served then a second ball dropped from her hand onto the court...she continued to play but the opponents and I simultaneously called a let...I did not know where the ball came from....what is the correct call?  Play a let or their point....we gave them the point.
Good Luck on the Court!!!
Scott Baker
http://www.tennis4you.com

Offline Jamesdster

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 6399
  • Gender: Male
Re: Ball Drop Question
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2013, 11:59:05 AM »
1st time it happens (I assume this is a ball falling out of a pocket vs the server intentionally discarding the other ball) it is a let but the player who dropped the ball is issued a HINDRANCE WARNING.  IF it happens again it is a point penalty.  The same rule applies to a hat falling off ones head, Serena losing her beads, etc.

There is another scenario similar to this in which the server is holding 2 balls and then discards the 2nd ball if the 1st serve goes in:
USTA Comment 26.5: Can the serverís discarding of a second ball constitute a hindrance? Yes. If the receiver or an official asks the server to stop discarding the ball, then the server shall stop. Any continued discarding of the ball constitutes a deliberate hindrance, and the server loses the point.
« Last Edit: November 08, 2013, 12:16:08 PM by Jamesdster »
I was at this casino minding my own business, and this guy came up to me and said, "You're gonna have to move, you're blocking a fire exit." As though if there was a fire, I wasn't gonna run. If you're flammible and have legs, you are never blocking a fire exit.  - Mitch Hedberg