Author Topic: Distracting Objects  (Read 1315 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Tennis4you

  • Administrator
  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 24878
  • Gender: Male
    • Tennis4you
Distracting Objects
« on: February 04, 2013, 07:28:15 PM »
Question received by email today.  I believe the player has the right to hold up play if a ball is still rolling and even has the right to ask his opponent to pick up a ball on the other side of the court if it is bugging him.  Wanting to see Big Jim's answers...

Quote
Been playing tennis for over 45 years and never had problems with this until the past few years, maybe things are changing, thought Iíd check the web but didnít find any answers.  This question concerns balls that are moving or in distracting positions when an opposing player wants to serve.  Here are situations that have arisen recently:

∑         Ball lying in the court, or nearby the court such as in or nearby the alley, and the server wants to begin the point without removing the ball.

∑         In singles, first serve hits net and is still moving when server begins second serve.

∑         In singles, first serve hits net and comes to a stop inside the court and not near the net, and the server leaves the ball there and begins his second serve.

∑         In doubles, first serve hits net, partner rolls the ball toward the side or back toward the net, but the ball is still moving when the server begins his second serve.

∑         In singles or double, first serve is out and goes to the backstop, and while I am turned around making sure the ball doesnít rebound while it is still moving the server wants to serve his second serve.

∑         Server has three balls, holds one in his hand, puts one in his pocket, and hits the third to the backstop behind him, then begins serving before the ball stops moving.

∑         Same situation, but now the ball is directly behind the server, a distracting yellow dot.

 

I guess this basically boils down to two questions: a) Does a receiver have the right to claim he is not ready to receive while a ball is still moving somewhere on the court? And b) Does a receiver have the right to request that a stationary ball be picked up because it is in a distracting position?
Good Luck on the Court!!!
Scott Baker
http://www.tennis4you.com

Offline monstertruck

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 12315
Re: Distracting Objects
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2013, 05:20:59 AM »
It's been soooooo long since I've played that I forget the actual rule.
Good sportsmanship dictates all distractions be dealt with prior to the start of a point.  Any that occur during the point, play a let (full point).
CONK da ball!!!

Offline Tennis4you

  • Administrator
  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 24878
  • Gender: Male
    • Tennis4you
Re: Distracting Objects
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2013, 05:31:21 AM »
So if your opponent hits a serve, it hits the net and roll back onto his side 8 feet from the net and that bothers you and your opponent want to hit their second serve, you kindly ask them to pick up the ball and then they get a 1st serve?
Good Luck on the Court!!!
Scott Baker
http://www.tennis4you.com

Offline Jamesdster

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 6399
  • Gender: Male
Re: Distracting Objects
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2013, 09:39:59 AM »
Question received by email today.  I believe the player has the right to hold up play if a ball is still rolling and even has the right to ask his opponent to pick up a ball on the other side of the court if it is bugging him.  Wanting to see Big Jim's answers...

Quote
Been playing tennis for over 45 years and never had problems with this until the past few years, maybe things are changing, thought Iíd check the web but didnít find any answers.  This question concerns balls that are moving or in distracting positions when an opposing player wants to serve.  Here are situations that have arisen recently:

∑         Ball lying in the court, or nearby the court such as in or nearby the alley, and the server wants to begin the point without removing the ball. - If the receiver is ok with this (and I can't imagine he/she wouldn't because if a ball in play hits the ball that is lying on the ct, more than likely that is going to result in an unplayable ball for the server.)  However, the reciever may request that ball that is laying ANYWHERE on the ct or surrounding area, be removed.∑         In singles, first serve hits net and is still moving when server begins second serve.

∑         In singles, first serve hits net and comes to a stop inside the court and not near the net, and the server leaves the ball there and begins his second serve. - see above

∑         In doubles, first serve hits net, partner rolls the ball toward the side or back toward the net, but the ball is still moving when the server begins his second serve. - Receiver can stop play and request that server wait till the ball comes to a rest.  Can't play out the point and then request this.

∑         In singles or double, first serve is out and goes to the backstop, and while I am turned around making sure the ball doesnít rebound while it is still moving the server wants to serve his second serve. - again, you should basically raise you racket or yell across the net "Wait please."  You are required to play at the servers' REASONABLE pace, turning around to make sure the ball is not rolling onto your ct is certainly ok.  Again, safety factor.

∑         Server has three balls, holds one in his hand, puts one in his pocket, and hits the third to the backstop behind him, then begins serving before the ball stops moving. - if requested by returner, server must wait till the ball is still.

∑         Same situation, but now the ball is directly behind the server, a distracting yellow dot. - as previously mentioned, a player must honor any request to remove a ball.

 

I guess this basically boils down to two questions: a) Does a receiver have the right to claim he is not ready to receive while a ball is still moving somewhere on the court? And b) Does a receiver have the right to request that a stationary ball be picked up because it is in a distracting position?

Lots of "stuff" happening here haha.  Before the start of a point, if a ball is laying STILL ANYWHERE and ALL players are aware of it, then whatever happens concerning that ball at the end of point is TOO LATE.  You decided to proceed and play the point so you cannot ask for a let after the point has been played.   A basic premise is ALL POINTS PLAYED IN GOOD FAITH STAND.  If a ball rolls onto your ct from an adjacent ct, either player can call let but it must BE DONE IMMEDIATELY.  You have to STOP PLAYING and call let.  As a chair umpire in USTA and ITA, in the pre-match instructions, I tell the players "you call all lets, unless a ball comes rolling onto your ct during the point, and I think you don't see it and if it creates a dangerous situation, then I will stop play. 
I was at this casino minding my own business, and this guy came up to me and said, "You're gonna have to move, you're blocking a fire exit." As though if there was a fire, I wasn't gonna run. If you're flammible and have legs, you are never blocking a fire exit.  - Mitch Hedberg

Offline Jamesdster

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 6399
  • Gender: Male
Re: Distracting Objects
« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2013, 09:42:19 AM »
So if your opponent hits a serve, it hits the net and roll back onto his side 8 feet from the net and that bothers you and your opponent want to hit their second serve, you kindly ask them to pick up the ball and then they get a 1st serve?

NOOOOOOO.  2nd serve.
I was at this casino minding my own business, and this guy came up to me and said, "You're gonna have to move, you're blocking a fire exit." As though if there was a fire, I wasn't gonna run. If you're flammible and have legs, you are never blocking a fire exit.  - Mitch Hedberg

Offline Tennis4you

  • Administrator
  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 24878
  • Gender: Male
    • Tennis4you
Re: Distracting Objects
« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2013, 10:04:11 AM »
So if your opponent hits a serve, it hits the net and roll back onto his side 8 feet from the net and that bothers you and your opponent want to hit their second serve, you kindly ask them to pick up the ball and then they get a 1st serve?

NOOOOOOO.  2nd serve.

That's what I am asking Monster, I don't think that was his intent, but just what I read of it.  That dude gets himself a fatty second serve!
Good Luck on the Court!!!
Scott Baker
http://www.tennis4you.com

Offline Jamesdster

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 6399
  • Gender: Male
Re: Distracting Objects
« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2013, 10:09:08 AM »
So if your opponent hits a serve, it hits the net and roll back onto his side 8 feet from the net and that bothers you and your opponent want to hit their second serve, you kindly ask them to pick up the ball and then they get a 1st serve?

NOOOOOOO.  2nd serve.

That's what I am asking Monster, I don't think that was his intent, but just what I read of it.  That dude gets himself a fatty second serve!

Scott.  In our club this is the Tom Wilson / Jim Rosser rule haha.  They ALWAYS try to coax a 2nd serve out of you for minor delays.  The rulebook states something like "the time it takes to clear a ball after the first serve does not warrant another first serve."  Unless of course you are clearly taking too long and it becomes a gamesmanship issue.
« Last Edit: February 05, 2013, 10:38:52 AM by Jamesdster »
I was at this casino minding my own business, and this guy came up to me and said, "You're gonna have to move, you're blocking a fire exit." As though if there was a fire, I wasn't gonna run. If you're flammible and have legs, you are never blocking a fire exit.  - Mitch Hedberg

Offline Tennis4you

  • Administrator
  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 24878
  • Gender: Male
    • Tennis4you
Re: Distracting Objects
« Reply #7 on: February 05, 2013, 11:56:14 AM »
It was a running joke Saturday that Tom would get a 1st serve.  We had an insane amount of balls roll into our court when Tom was serving. 
Good Luck on the Court!!!
Scott Baker
http://www.tennis4you.com

Offline Jamesdster

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 6399
  • Gender: Male
Re: Distracting Objects
« Reply #8 on: February 05, 2013, 01:17:04 PM »
It was a running joke Saturday that Tom would get a 1st serve.  We had an insane amount of balls roll into our court when Tom was serving.

The only time you MUST award a first serve is if the server is interrupted ONCE HIS/HER SERVICE MOTION HAS STARTED
I was at this casino minding my own business, and this guy came up to me and said, "You're gonna have to move, you're blocking a fire exit." As though if there was a fire, I wasn't gonna run. If you're flammible and have legs, you are never blocking a fire exit.  - Mitch Hedberg

Offline monstertruck

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 12315
Re: Distracting Objects
« Reply #9 on: February 05, 2013, 04:59:54 PM »
So if your opponent hits a serve, it hits the net and roll back onto his side 8 feet from the net and that bothers you and your opponent want to hit their second serve, you kindly ask them to pick up the ball and then they get a 1st serve?
No.
They pick up the ball and hit their 2nd serve.
CONK da ball!!!

Offline monstertruck

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 12315
Re: Distracting Objects
« Reply #10 on: February 05, 2013, 05:03:33 PM »
So if your opponent hits a serve, it hits the net and roll back onto his side 8 feet from the net and that bothers you and your opponent want to hit their second serve, you kindly ask them to pick up the ball and then they get a 1st serve?

NOOOOOOO.  2nd serve.

That's what I am asking Monster, I don't think that was his intent, but just what I read of it.  That dude gets himself a fatty second serve!
ALL of my 2nd serves are FAT cuckoobird! :yup:
CONK da ball!!!

Offline monstertruck

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 12315
Re: Distracting Objects
« Reply #11 on: February 05, 2013, 05:04:59 PM »
So if your opponent hits a serve, it hits the net and roll back onto his side 8 feet from the net and that bothers you and your opponent want to hit their second serve, you kindly ask them to pick up the ball and then they get a 1st serve?

NOOOOOOO.  2nd serve.

That's what I am asking Monster, I don't think that was his intent, but just what I read of it.  That dude gets himself a fatty second serve!

Scott.  In our club this is the Tom Wilson / Jim Rosser rule haha.  They ALWAYS try to coax a 2nd serve out of you for minor delays.  The rulebook states something like "the time it takes to clear a ball after the first serve does not warrant another first serve."  Unless of course you are clearly taking too long and it becomes a gamesmanship issue.
When b**ches like that ask for it I give it too 'em and then line 'em up for a tatoo.
CONK da ball!!!

Offline Jamesdster

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 6399
  • Gender: Male
Re: Distracting Objects
« Reply #12 on: February 06, 2013, 09:03:22 AM »
So if your opponent hits a serve, it hits the net and roll back onto his side 8 feet from the net and that bothers you and your opponent want to hit their second serve, you kindly ask them to pick up the ball and then they get a 1st serve?

NOOOOOOO.  2nd serve.

That's what I am asking Monster, I don't think that was his intent, but just what I read of it.  That dude gets himself a fatty second serve!

Scott.  In our club this is the Tom Wilson / Jim Rosser rule haha.  They ALWAYS try to coax a 2nd serve out of you for minor delays.  The rulebook states something like "the time it takes to clear a ball after the first serve does not warrant another first serve."  Unless of course you are clearly taking too long and it becomes a gamesmanship issue.
When b**ches like that ask for it I give it too 'em and then line 'em up for a tatoo.

Is the tattoo that of a ball imprint, complete with seems?   :rofl_2:
I was at this casino minding my own business, and this guy came up to me and said, "You're gonna have to move, you're blocking a fire exit." As though if there was a fire, I wasn't gonna run. If you're flammible and have legs, you are never blocking a fire exit.  - Mitch Hedberg

Offline monstertruck

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 12315
Re: Distracting Objects
« Reply #13 on: February 06, 2013, 12:38:15 PM »
Seems like it would be complete with seams if I were to hit it. ;-()

Bottom line is, most players at our level know the rules.
Any attempt to gain an advantage through unsportsmanlike conduct is cheating in my book.  'Cheats' deserve a tatoo identifying them as such.  Being the mild mannered fella that I am, I am more than willing to hand them out. :\
CONK da ball!!!

Offline euroka1

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 5910
  • Gender: Male
Re: Distracting Objects
« Reply #14 on: March 16, 2013, 09:41:28 AM »
This post is in itself a distraction.  :uhm:

Did I hear/see right that Murray yesterday was complaining that the security guys in the stands were a distraction and that the chair ruled that this was OK as long as they stayed motionless. ..-)

Offline monstertruck

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 12315
Re: Distracting Objects
« Reply #15 on: March 16, 2013, 09:01:25 PM »
This post is in itself a distraction.  :uhm:

Did I hear/see right that Murray yesterday was complaining that the security guys in the stands were a distraction and that the chair ruled that this was OK as long as they stayed motionless. ..-)
The inner demons surfaced once again.
DPot was smokin'!  Andy (not Roddick) had to blame someone/thing besides himself.

This forum is distracting me from smokin' 25lbs of baby back ribs! :drool: :drunk:
CONK da ball!!!