Author Topic: Hat vs Ball  (Read 512 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online Tennis4you

  • Administrator
  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 24886
  • Gender: Male
    • Tennis4you
Hat vs Ball
« on: March 28, 2013, 06:39:58 AM »
Another rules question emailed to me, this one's for you big Jimmy!

Quote
My opponents hat blows off during a point, and  lands outside the lines, I hit a ball that appears to be out but lands on his/her hat.....who’s point?
Good Luck on the Court!!!
Scott Baker
http://www.tennis4you.com

Offline Jamesdster

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 6399
  • Gender: Male
Re: Hat vs Ball
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2013, 06:47:02 AM »
First of all, it depends on whether or not it was an officiated match.  If so, the official would've called a let AND a hindrance warning (if it happens again, person losing hat loses point.)  In an unofficiated match, the person who lost the hat cannot call a let (rules says that YOU CANNOT CREATE YOUR OWN LET).  The opponent could have called a let but since she/he didn’t, it now becomes part of the court.  Thus a ball hitting the hat out of bounds is out.  If the hat was in the middle of the court and a ball in play hits it and it bounces up, it is in play.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2013, 06:48:19 AM by Jamesdster »
I was at this casino minding my own business, and this guy came up to me and said, "You're gonna have to move, you're blocking a fire exit." As though if there was a fire, I wasn't gonna run. If you're flammible and have legs, you are never blocking a fire exit.  - Mitch Hedberg

Offline Lugburz

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 8233
  • Gender: Male
  • Chelsea till I die!
Re: Hat vs Ball
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2013, 12:27:21 PM »
Hahaha nice question and explanation.
In the absence of light, darkness prevails!
------------------------------------------------------

TOMMY HAAS
Philipp Kohlschreiber  -  Stanislas Wawrinka - TB - NM - GD - EG - IS - DL - RF - DT - JWT

Offline jarinahpel

  • Tennis Player
  • **
  • Posts: 6
Re: Hat vs Ball
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2013, 04:04:52 PM »
A ball hitting the hat out of bounds is out.  If the hat was in the middle of the court and a ball in play hits it and it bounces up, it is in play.

Offline MickelJacson

  • New Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Hat vs Ball
« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2014, 12:36:43 AM »
I want some friends I can go level with or take some ops. Hard to find people on during my play time because I'm in the USA. I am currently Protopharma but I can switch on my own to whichever faction. I prefer anti-city.