Instructional Tennis > Tennis Rules & Regulations

Hat vs Ball

(1/1)

Tennis4you:
Another rules question emailed to me, this one's for you big Jimmy!


--- Quote ---My opponents hat blows off during a point, and  lands outside the lines, I hit a ball that appears to be out but lands on his/her hat.....who’s point?
--- End quote ---

Jamesdster:
First of all, it depends on whether or not it was an officiated match.  If so, the official would've called a let AND a hindrance warning (if it happens again, person losing hat loses point.)  In an unofficiated match, the person who lost the hat cannot call a let (rules says that YOU CANNOT CREATE YOUR OWN LET).  The opponent could have called a let but since she/he didn’t, it now becomes part of the court.  Thus a ball hitting the hat out of bounds is out.  If the hat was in the middle of the court and a ball in play hits it and it bounces up, it is in play.

Lugburz:
Hahaha nice question and explanation.

jarinahpel:
A ball hitting the hat out of bounds is out.  If the hat was in the middle of the court and a ball in play hits it and it bounces up, it is in play.

Navigation

[0] Message Index

Go to full version