Author Topic: Rules Question  (Read 1678 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Creecher

  • Tennis Player
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Rules Question
« on: June 16, 2006, 05:20:44 AM »
While playing in a USTA doubles match last night I noticed that my opponents had changed positions in the middle of the 1st set. I asked my partner if they had changed and he did not think that they had. I KNEW that they had been in the opposite position for at least one point in the set as I specifically remembered the every aspect of that point. So I asked them if they had switched and they said that they had not and that was how they started the set. At that point we were up 3-1 but my mental toughness faded as I could not get over the fact that they had switched or that my mind was playing tricks on me.

Well we ended up at 4-2 in tie breaker and I looked up prior to my partners serve and guess what - THEY WERE SWITCHED AGAIN. I called them on it  immediately that time and they looked like someone that just got busted. They said that they just messed up on the switch over.

At that time what were my options? Could I call the point as a hinderance?

After the fact what are my options? Should I report this to our league coordinator? I feel certain that they either switched intentionally or "wilfully" overlooked their switches.

Offline Tennis4you

  • Administrator
  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 24852
  • Gender: Male
    • Tennis4you
Rules Question
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2006, 05:32:11 AM »
Well, you really have no proof they did this intentially so you have no options as far as I know.

This happened to me the other night in a mixed doubles tourney.  My partner was getting ready to serve the first point in her game.  She hits the serve, they return it and I stopped the point and questioned their positioning.  They apologized and told us to take the point.  Although they did the right thing by giving up the point I did not take it, I hate free bees.

But in your case they could have been doing it intentionally but since you have no proof I do not feel there is really anything you can do.  You can mention it to your league coordinator but if they did do it intentially, is it much worse than calling a ball out that was in.  There is nothing anyone can really do as far as I know.  :(
Good Luck on the Court!!!
Scott Baker
http://www.tennis4you.com

Offline Jamesdster

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 6393
  • Gender: Male
Rules Question
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2006, 06:58:31 AM »
In researching this I stumbled across this...

USTA Comment 14.1: May a doubles team switch its serving
order at the beginning of any set or Match Tiebreak? Yes. There is
no requirement that any doubles team retain the same serving
order for a new set or Match Tiebreak.

Whaaaaat?  You can switch your serving order in a tiebreaker?  Or is a "Match Tiebreaker" speaking of something else?  I feel like a beginner.
I was at this casino minding my own business, and this guy came up to me and said, "You're gonna have to move, you're blocking a fire exit." As though if there was a fire, I wasn't gonna run. If you're flammible and have legs, you are never blocking a fire exit.  - Mitch Hedberg

Offline Creecher

  • Tennis Player
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Rules Question
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2006, 07:08:07 AM »
WOW - I will look at that one. The switching that I am talking about is when they were receiving serve so 14.1 would not apply. To my knowledge, the only occasion that you can switch receiving positions is in between sets.

Offline Jamesdster

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 6393
  • Gender: Male
Rules Question
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2006, 07:16:33 AM »
I agree with you but I thought that applied to serving as well.  I played 4 years of college tennis and many yrs of tournaments afterwards and I guess I don't even know the basic rules  :) .  Sad.   ;-()
I was at this casino minding my own business, and this guy came up to me and said, "You're gonna have to move, you're blocking a fire exit." As though if there was a fire, I wasn't gonna run. If you're flammible and have legs, you are never blocking a fire exit.  - Mitch Hedberg

Offline Tennis4you

  • Administrator
  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 24852
  • Gender: Male
    • Tennis4you
Rules Question
« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2006, 07:22:07 AM »
Quote from: "Jamesdster"
I agree with you but I thought that applied to serving as well.  I played 4 years of college tennis and many yrs of tournaments afterwards and I guess I don't even know the basic rules  :) .  Sad.   ;-()


Yes it is sad Jamesdster, you ought to be ashamed of yourself...

If they switched serving I would be pissed and question them hard core on integrity of what just happened, especially if the stronger server was serving twice in a row.  Like if I was serving twice when playing with Jamesdster.  :)

Switching sides, especially in the middle of a tb or when you switched sides of the court wiht your opponent can be an easy mistake to be made.
Good Luck on the Court!!!
Scott Baker
http://www.tennis4you.com

Offline Jamesdster

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 6393
  • Gender: Male
Rules Question
« Reply #6 on: June 16, 2006, 07:39:17 AM »
If it's allowed, why would you question their integrity?  I just never new it was allowed. I've never seen it happen either.
I was at this casino minding my own business, and this guy came up to me and said, "You're gonna have to move, you're blocking a fire exit." As though if there was a fire, I wasn't gonna run. If you're flammible and have legs, you are never blocking a fire exit.  - Mitch Hedberg

Offline Tennis4you

  • Administrator
  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 24852
  • Gender: Male
    • Tennis4you
Rules Question
« Reply #7 on: June 16, 2006, 07:55:20 AM »
I mean switching up serves in the middle of a set or when in a tb.  Not from set to set.  Keep up with me now big fella.
Good Luck on the Court!!!
Scott Baker
http://www.tennis4you.com

Offline Jamesdster

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 6393
  • Gender: Male
Rules Question
« Reply #8 on: June 16, 2006, 08:08:30 AM »
Y o u   n e e d   t o   s  l  o  w   d o w n  w h e n speaking to the mentally incompetent (me) :insane:
I was at this casino minding my own business, and this guy came up to me and said, "You're gonna have to move, you're blocking a fire exit." As though if there was a fire, I wasn't gonna run. If you're flammible and have legs, you are never blocking a fire exit.  - Mitch Hedberg

Offline Creecher

  • Tennis Player
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Rules Question
« Reply #9 on: June 16, 2006, 08:47:07 AM »
I am actually wanting to question their integrity as a result of the switching when receiving serve as they were switching the weaker player out of AD to deuce as he did not have a back hand return.

Offline Tennis4you

  • Administrator
  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 24852
  • Gender: Male
    • Tennis4you
Rules Question
« Reply #10 on: June 16, 2006, 09:35:23 AM »
They can claim that it was an honest mistake.  I have done it myself, I have caught myself before the point started though.  I do not think you have any course of action.  The USTA office would not do anything.
Good Luck on the Court!!!
Scott Baker
http://www.tennis4you.com

Offline dmastous

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 15254
  • Gender: Male
    • http://www.tips4tennis.com
Rules Question
« Reply #11 on: June 16, 2006, 02:04:21 PM »
I think the bottom line here is, there's nothing you can do about them having done that. But if you play them again, you should be on your toes mentally and keep an eye on their positioning.
It's really up to each player to keep track of things like that. Serving order, doubles positioning etc... If you do get rooked on something, and don't catch it right away, there's no mechanism for going back and re-playing or anything. You just have to move on and accept it as done.
I can speak from experience here. I am one of those who's focus is about as far from the match situation as you can get. I am constantly having to be reminded of the score, and once in awhile will take position on the wrong side.

Is a tree as a rocking horse
An ambition fulfilled
And is the sawdust jealous?
I worry about these things .

Kevin Godley & Lol Crème (I Pity Inanimate Objects)