Author Topic: I can't keep the ball in the court anymore.  (Read 1374 times)

Offline cje202

• New Poster
I can't keep the ball in the court anymore.
« on: October 09, 2006, 08:17:40 PM »
I played a lot the first half of this year, then starting early august, stopped playing.  Now I started playing about a 2 weeks ago and I can no longer serve or return the ball into the court.

My slice serve used to actually be more reliable than my top spin, and now I for some reason cannot put it into the service square with any consistency.  It either goes way wide or I compensate to the right and then it decides not to slice.  The top spin serve is even worse, I really don't miss that badly, I consistently hit the top of the net, miss wide left by about 1 foot, or miss long by about a yard.  So i'm not missing one way consistently, but it still wont go in.  Then I try the easy just tap it over the net serve, and that obviously goes in, but when I try to gradually bring up velocity after a few serves, I get to the point where I'm missing again.  

Now the return is equally bad, for a while I was used to putting some kind of spin on almost every touch.  Again, if i just tap it over, it gets over, but any time i put anything on it I generally either don't get remotely close to the court(it goes about 5 feet long, or I bury it into the net.  I can probably drop it better than I could at any other point in my life right now, but it doesn't help when people know that is the only shot i can keep in.  Any time I get the ball at my waist and go for a big forehand, it goes long.  Well I get it about 1/10 times, but thats really unacceptable.  My backhand, which used to be the strongest part of my game, is non-existent now for some reason.

This isn't just one of those slumps that you go through for a day or two, ive been like this for at least 7 games over the past 2 weeks.  I don't know if i'm asking for tips or just complainging, but I am rather upset.

Offline wilsonboy