Author Topic: Let Call When Ball Rolls on Your Ct Between 1st & 2nd Serves  (Read 2213 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jamesdster

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 6399
  • Gender: Male
Ok, I know we’ve had lots of “Pet Peeves” threads in the past, but the one that bugs me the most is the following:  Player A faults on the first serve…..a ball from adjacent ct rolls behind him and settles softly against the back curtain (indoors) or fence (outdoors).….Player A goes back and fetches the ball and asks for 2.  This happens ALL THE TIME in our club.  I don’t usually say anything, though I have mumbled my feelings more than once.  If it was a tight match in a serious tournament, NO WAY am I giving you 2!

The rulebook says: What happens when a ball from an adjacent court rolls on the court between the first and second serves? The
time it takes to clear an intruding ball between the first and second serves is not considered sufficient time to warrant the server receiving two serves unless this time is so prolonged as to constitute an interruption.

The receiver is the judge of whether the delay is sufficiently prolonged to justify giving the server two serves.
I was at this casino minding my own business, and this guy came up to me and said, "You're gonna have to move, you're blocking a fire exit." As though if there was a fire, I wasn't gonna run. If you're flammible and have legs, you are never blocking a fire exit.  - Mitch Hedberg

Online Tennis4you

  • Administrator
  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 24870
  • Gender: Male
    • Tennis4you
Re: Let Call When Ball Rolls on Your Ct Between 1st & 2nd Serves
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2008, 10:03:06 AM »
I always tell them to take 2 unless they have been stiffing me in similar situations.  As long as it does not interrupt their service motion there is no let unless the receiver allows it.  I like to be nice about it.  If someone went back to pick up a ball and they have been stiffing me on lets then I give them nothing.
Good Luck on the Court!!!
Scott Baker
http://www.tennis4you.com

Offline dmastous

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 15261
  • Gender: Male
    • http://www.tips4tennis.com
Re: Let Call When Ball Rolls on Your Ct Between 1st & 2nd Serves
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2008, 10:05:24 AM »
It's not a pet peeve, but it is annoying. I've been on both sides (as have most).
In that situation, I don't ask for a first serve, unless it takes a long time to get the ball back. In fact even then, I don't ask for a first serve, but if it takes a minute or so for the delay, I will get a bit annoyed that I don't get one.

Is a tree as a rocking horse
An ambition fulfilled
And is the sawdust jealous?
I worry about these things .

Kevin Godley & Lol Crème (I Pity Inanimate Objects)

Offline Jamesdster

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 6399
  • Gender: Male
Re: Let Call When Ball Rolls on Your Ct Between 1st & 2nd Serves
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2008, 10:09:02 AM »
I always tell them to take 2 unless they have been stiffing me in similar situations.  As long as it does not interrupt their service motion there is no let unless the receiver allows it.  I like to be nice about it.  If someone went back to pick up a ball and they have been stiffing me on lets then I give them nothing.

Most players DO allow the server to take 2 and they SHOULDN'T.  A lot of these folks are using this rule as a ploy to get another whack at a first serve when they KNOW they are bending the rule.

I actually got into a good argument with the #1 seeds in the WV Open a few yrs back.  MM and I were down 5-4 and they were serving at 30-40 when this exact scenario occurred.  It was so blatent that it was ridiculous.  He asked for 2 and I said, serve up the 2nd ball son.  He was quite pissed but I didn't really care.  I hate when I feel like I'm getting hosed, especially in a "good" tournament.
« Last Edit: March 19, 2008, 10:09:54 AM by Jamesdster »
I was at this casino minding my own business, and this guy came up to me and said, "You're gonna have to move, you're blocking a fire exit." As though if there was a fire, I wasn't gonna run. If you're flammible and have legs, you are never blocking a fire exit.  - Mitch Hedberg

Offline wilsonboy

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 8484
  • Gender: Male
  • Jesus Christ is Lord
Re: Let Call When Ball Rolls on Your Ct Between 1st & 2nd Serves
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2008, 11:16:16 AM »
I didn't even know about that rule. I think that it's because I've mostly played people that I know and so they know they couldn't pull that one with me.
Be the change that you seek.

Online Tennis4you

  • Administrator
  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 24870
  • Gender: Male
    • Tennis4you
Re: Let Call When Ball Rolls on Your Ct Between 1st & 2nd Serves
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2008, 11:27:58 AM »
I always tell them to take 2 unless they have been stiffing me in similar situations.  As long as it does not interrupt their service motion there is no let unless the receiver allows it.  I like to be nice about it.  If someone went back to pick up a ball and they have been stiffing me on lets then I give them nothing.

Most players DO allow the server to take 2 and they SHOULDN'T.  A lot of these folks are using this rule as a ploy to get another whack at a first serve when they KNOW they are bending the rule.

I actually got into a good argument with the #1 seeds in the WV Open a few yrs back.  MM and I were down 5-4 and they were serving at 30-40 when this exact scenario occurred.  It was so blatent that it was ridiculous.  He asked for 2 and I said, serve up the 2nd ball son.  He was quite pissed but I didn't really care.  I hate when I feel like I'm getting hosed, especially in a "good" tournament.

I can only remember one time someone asked me for a first serve.  If I feel it messes up their rhythm I will give them 2, my choice of course.
Good Luck on the Court!!!
Scott Baker
http://www.tennis4you.com

Offline Victor

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 2288
Re: Let Call When Ball Rolls on Your Ct Between 1st & 2nd Serves
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2008, 11:31:42 AM »
Luckily that doesnt happen here, I mean thats ridicilous. Ok if it really interefered the serve (! Not just landing while your serving, I mean thats not interfering), youll get it but I have yet to see that.
Dont fight about tennis, support tennis.

I just didn't think I would be seeing a clay court tournament where Roddick is still in it and Nadal is out.   -   Dallas -  31 May, RG 2009

Offline Jamesdster

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 6399
  • Gender: Male
Re: Let Call When Ball Rolls on Your Ct Between 1st & 2nd Serves
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2008, 11:59:08 AM »
I always tell them to take 2 unless they have been stiffing me in similar situations.  As long as it does not interrupt their service motion there is no let unless the receiver allows it.  I like to be nice about it.  If someone went back to pick up a ball and they have been stiffing me on lets then I give them nothing.

Most players DO allow the server to take 2 and they SHOULDN'T.  A lot of these folks are using this rule as a ploy to get another whack at a first serve when they KNOW they are bending the rule.

I actually got into a good argument with the #1 seeds in the WV Open a few yrs back.  MM and I were down 5-4 and they were serving at 30-40 when this exact scenario occurred.  It was so blatent that it was ridiculous.  He asked for 2 and I said, serve up the 2nd ball son.  He was quite pissed but I didn't really care.  I hate when I feel like I'm getting hosed, especially in a "good" tournament.

I can only remember one time someone asked me for a first serve.  If I feel it messes up their rhythm I will give them 2, my choice of course.

If the ball rolls harmlessly behind you and is out of play, there is NO reason to fetch it between serves, unless you are trying to get a 1st serve out of it and that is borderline cheating if you ask me.  Jon L does this all the time.  In his case, he is too nice a guy so I would never accuse him of cheating; I think he's just not cognizant of the rule. 
I was at this casino minding my own business, and this guy came up to me and said, "You're gonna have to move, you're blocking a fire exit." As though if there was a fire, I wasn't gonna run. If you're flammible and have legs, you are never blocking a fire exit.  - Mitch Hedberg

Offline OSU Buckeye

  • The Great One!
  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 15107
  • LETS GO BUCKS!!!
Re: Let Call When Ball Rolls on Your Ct Between 1st & 2nd Serves
« Reply #8 on: March 24, 2008, 07:05:13 PM »
I agree Jster, if the server goes and gets that ball then that is their choice.............they didn't have to go get it because it wasn't in the way!   ;-()     Now, if that interference happens while they are in their motion then they get 2 serves. 

I do sometimes give this kind of thing up on our friendly Wednesday night matches as I see that as practice and would rather have to return a tougher serve! 

Offline euroka1

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 5907
  • Gender: Male
Re: Let Call When Ball Rolls on Your Ct Between 1st & 2nd Serves
« Reply #9 on: March 24, 2008, 09:19:24 PM »
Ok, I know we’ve had lots of “Pet Peeves” threads in the past, but the one that bugs me the most is the following:  Player A faults on the first serve…..a ball from adjacent ct rolls behind him and settles softly against the back curtain (indoors) or fence (outdoors).….Player A goes back and fetches the ball and asks for 2.  This happens ALL THE TIME in our club.  I don’t usually say anything, though I have mumbled my feelings more than once.  If it was a tight match in a serious tournament, NO WAY am I giving you 2!

The rulebook says: What happens when a ball from an adjacent court rolls on the court between the first and second serves? The
time it takes to clear an intruding ball between the first and second serves is not considered sufficient time to warrant the server receiving two serves unless this time is so prolonged as to constitute an interruption.

The receiver is the judge of whether the delay is sufficiently prolonged to justify giving the server two serves.


Rule book is fair and reasonable to me but I wouldn't make an issue of it. But then I don't play that kind of tennis  :) .

Offline dmastous

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 15261
  • Gender: Male
    • http://www.tips4tennis.com
Re: Let Call When Ball Rolls on Your Ct Between 1st & 2nd Serves
« Reply #10 on: March 24, 2008, 09:28:53 PM »
Ok, I know we’ve had lots of “Pet Peeves” threads in the past, but the one that bugs me the most is the following:  Player A faults on the first serve…..a ball from adjacent ct rolls behind him and settles softly against the back curtain (indoors) or fence (outdoors).….Player A goes back and fetches the ball and asks for 2.  This happens ALL THE TIME in our club.  I don’t usually say anything, though I have mumbled my feelings more than once.  If it was a tight match in a serious tournament, NO WAY am I giving you 2!

The rulebook says: What happens when a ball from an adjacent court rolls on the court between the first and second serves? The
time it takes to clear an intruding ball between the first and second serves is not considered sufficient time to warrant the server receiving two serves unless this time is so prolonged as to constitute an interruption.

The receiver is the judge of whether the delay is sufficiently prolonged to justify giving the server two serves.


Rule book is fair and reasonable to me but I wouldn't make an issue of it. But then I don't play that kind of tennis  :) .

How many times have you seen someone catch, or stop a ball clearly going out in flight? How many times have you taken the point? Because that's concidered a touch. That's what the rulebook says anyway. Don't know If I've ever taken a point like that though.

Is a tree as a rocking horse
An ambition fulfilled
And is the sawdust jealous?
I worry about these things .

Kevin Godley & Lol Crème (I Pity Inanimate Objects)

Offline euroka1

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 5907
  • Gender: Male
Re: Let Call When Ball Rolls on Your Ct Between 1st & 2nd Serves
« Reply #11 on: March 24, 2008, 09:40:02 PM »
How many times have you seen someone catch, or stop a ball clearly going out in flight? How many times have you taken the point? Because that's concidered a touch. That's what the rulebook says anyway. Don't know If I've ever taken a point like that though.

That happens too and a lot more frequently but if it's obvious, I let it go. But it does irritate. :mad1:

Offline dmastous

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 15261
  • Gender: Male
    • http://www.tips4tennis.com
Re: Let Call When Ball Rolls on Your Ct Between 1st & 2nd Serves
« Reply #12 on: March 24, 2008, 10:04:21 PM »
How many times have you seen someone catch, or stop a ball clearly going out in flight? How many times have you taken the point? Because that's concidered a touch. That's what the rulebook says anyway. Don't know If I've ever taken a point like that though.

That happens too and a lot more frequently but if it's obvious, I let it go. But it does irritate. :mad1:

Sometimes I'll let people know the rule, and warn them that someone may enforce it, but I've never done so. Usually they're surprised.

Is a tree as a rocking horse
An ambition fulfilled
And is the sawdust jealous?
I worry about these things .

Kevin Godley & Lol Crème (I Pity Inanimate Objects)

Offline pawan89

  • Tennis God
  • ******
  • Posts: 8501
  • Gender: Male
    • Onset of Chaos
Re: Let Call When Ball Rolls on Your Ct Between 1st & 2nd Serves
« Reply #13 on: March 24, 2008, 11:47:36 PM »
Actually if this happens, whoseever ball it is that rolled over should wait until our point is played out right? We are after all in the middle of a point here, right before a second serve. And if the server goes to get a ball that is not interfering at all - like the one sitting in the back, its at the servers own risk. I wouldn't give two - but then I don't know if I can have the guts to be like 'hellzz no' like I want to in a situation where, you know, its tough. Like if the opponent is a friend or friendly guy, or if you are winning clearly or losing clearly .. i mean often depending on the trend and just the person that I am, if they asked, I'd give it to them but in general I don't think you should.
If the ball is really interfering, maybe its valid. I personally never ask for a first nor have I had anyone ask one.

But like in your situation.. down 4-5 40-30, that's critical there. he has the guts to disrupt your rythem and ask you for a first? crazy, of course not.